A photography tour of Newcastle Quayside

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Photography Tour 2

I got my camera as a present for my 21st birthday back in January and until now I’ve just pointed my camera, pressed the button and hoped for the best. I had heard of phrases such as ‘aperture’ and ‘exposure’ with only a vague idea of what they were. Luckily, I also got a photography tour voucher for with RedCloud Photography Tours and in just 3 hours I learnt so much….

Photography Tour 3

Newcastle Quayside is renowned for its photogenic nature. If you google ‘Newcastle’ it’ll be either pictures of the quayside or a Greggs that you find. I met the course leader Rachel on what was one of the first bitter cold nights of the year (lucky me) feeling excited to learn and improve my photography. The first lesson was simply image composition. The ‘Rule of Thirds’ was introduced in which you split your view finder into 3 sections both horizontally and vertically. It is at the dividing lines between these sections that you want to place points of focus in your image.

Photography Tour 1

It was after going over composition we looked in more detail at exposure. For anyone who is new to photography, aperture and shutter speed are the main points you need to know about. Aperture is how much light you allow to enter the lens and shutter speed is the duration in which that light can enter for. These combined control the exposure of a still.

You’ve probably all seen those pictures that seem to show the traffic moving? Well it was my time to have a go at it. The result isn’t going to win any ‘Photographer of the Year’ awards but I was quite impressed with how it turned out.

DSC_0381

I was so glad I did this tour and can’t wait to continue progressing with my photography. I feel like it makes even the most boring places interesting as you start to notice more detail. I’d like to thank Rachel at Red Cloud Photography who was a fantastic and welcoming host.

Here is the link if you’d like to book a tour…it isn’t just Newcastle.  http://www.redclouddays.co.uk

Photography Tour 5

Let me know what you think of my photography! What do you like to photograph? Are there any difficulties you face when photographing?

Declan

x

 

6 thoughts on “A photography tour of Newcastle Quayside

  1. Sue says:

    Once you understand the rule of thirds it makes your photos better. You’ve done really well with what you’ve presented here. I like the one of the Tyne Bridge the composition is good and there are good reflections. (I would have waited for the person to get out my shot though 🙂 )
    Keep practicing and experimenting and the skills will grow.
    I like to take macro photos. It’s amazing what you see close up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

