Looking ahead to 2016…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2016 blog post

I love everything about New Year! People may say it’s because it coincides with my birthday but, even though I agree that helps, I celebrate it for other reasons. Whilst there’s no excuses to start anything from a diet to a new hobby at any time of year, I feel the start of the year is the best time. It’s a time to look at what you’ve achieved in the past year and set goals as to what you want to achieve in the following year. Currently, at this stage in my life, this is more important then ever. In the next year I will finish my degree and get let loose into the ‘adult world’ which is something so important to me. There is, however, something of greater importance that I’ve set myself to do in 2016 and I’d like to share that with you…

In 2016 I want to lead a happier and healthier life and try look at all aspects of my life in a positive way. Why? For my health. In the past year I have struggled with quite a debilitating episode of depression; constantly living in a bubble, feeling like I can’t connect with family members, friends and anyone else that happens to find themselves in my life. I’ve had physical symptoms like random aches and pains, numbness and brain fog. I’ve had regular thoughts that it’d be better that I wasn’t here. I didn’t ever think that such a negative way of thinking could get me to such a dark place and to where I am now.

People who meet me would probably be shocked to hear this. I think I’ve become quite good at hiding the true extent of it. I think so negatively about my sexuality, appearance and relationships and it needs to change. Close friends and family may recall little things like how I hate getting in photos and how I am always negative about what other people may think of me. When I look back, I’m not surprised I’ve found myself in this position battling to get out of bed every single day.

I’m not really sure why I’m sharing this on the blog either. I find it quite good therapy to get it all off my chest and now this way you all know. I do also know that in the future, when this cloud passes, I want to help people with mental health struggles; especially in the LGBT community. Since starting this blog I’ve invested a lot of time into social media and I love how positive the platform can be. With this in mind, and on a lighter note, I have news regarding the blog…

In 2016 I plan to have a major overhaul. This includes a name change, website change and potentially, if I’m feeling brave enough, a YouTube channel. I’m still going to write about everything I get up to and current issues that affect me but this year a lot more seriously. I’d like to post weekly on Sundays whilst at university and twice weekly once final exams are out the way. I’m going to pursue my new found love for photography even more and try and create interesting content for you all to enjoy. I’d also like to connect with more bloggers and really immerse myself in this internet world. I’m hoping it will help me with my recovery.

Finally, I’d like to make a promise to family and friends that I will do everything I can to get better. To realise that when I’m on the other side of this I can achieve all I’ve wanted to achieve. Here’s to a healthier, happier and more positive 2016….

Thanks for your support!

Declan

x

Let me know what you hope to achieve in 2016 in the comments below!

12 thoughts on “Looking ahead to 2016…

  1. Georgina says:

    I’ve never read your blog before, but the comment on which you shared this post made me look. You’re certainly not alone with depression, but acknowledging it in such an open forum is a HUGE step to recovery. Wishing you good luck for the future, and I hope you get all the support you need. Blogging/YouTube are great outlets and I’m sure you’ll find ways to pull through this hard time, and meet new friends who understand along the way.

    Like

  2. Edel says:

    I’m sort to hear what u are going through Declan, but it is great that you are talking about it. You are very lucky that you have a lovely family to look after you, I hope 2016 will be a better, more positive year for you x
    Love to all
    Edel xx 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 88katiekins says:

    A lovely truthful post. I started blogging whilst trying to get through some particularly difficult times last year and I am now enjoying be open and honest on it. I always feel much better once I have posted a new blog post! Have a happy new year x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

