Lifestyle | ‘What even is a fashion blogger?!?!’

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

12510104_10205156340457624_89780932_o

When I first started my blog about six months ago I never imagined ‘fashion blogging’. Reading and engaging in fashion blogs is  something I’ve always stayed clear of. Whilst I’m not saying I have no fashion sense, my wardrobe tends to go no further than the high street with the likes of Topman, River Island & ASOS frequently being in my web browser history. London Collection Men  is happening this weekend and one of my favourite Youtubers, Jim Chapman, drew my attention to it. Hours later I found myself engrossed in the website and actually watching live feeds from the event. All of this got me thinking, ‘what even is a fashion blogger?’ and ‘why couldn’t I be one?’ 

After being engrossed in everything LCM a link appeared on my Facebook feed about Eddie Redmayne being voted GQ’s ‘Best Dressed Man in the World’. This intrigued me enough to actually go out and buy the latest issue of the magazine in which the top 50 dressed men in Britain featured. Amongst the top ten were Sam Smith, David Beckham, Harry Styles and Benedict Cumberbatch to name a few. The obvious connection between all of these is that they are in the public eye; probably having their wardrobes decked out for them. Designers competing to dress the latest celebrities, often spending millions of pounds doing so, made me question myself. What hope is there for a little unknown from Middlesbrough to make it in fashion. Probably none.

So this links into yet another of my New Year resolutions (I’m not sure at what point they can be classed as new year resolutions) . I want to try fashion blogging this year. I actually look at the likes of Steve Booker for inspiration. If you haven’t heard of him click on his name. He seems to be a relatively normal guy putting out some pretty cool fashion content out on his blog. The only thing that he seems to be, and that I am not, is a full time adult. What I mean by this is that I am still a student with a relatively restricted income. How can put fashion content out there when I’m practically broke? To combat this I’ve decided I’m going to do a ‘What I want to buy’ post every so often relating to fashion. I feel like this is a good compromise. Clothing that I’d love to own but can’t afford kind of posts.

So that’s decided then. I’m going to try fashion blogging. I’m also currently working on a major overhaul for my blog with a new look and feel about the site. I’m also toying with the idea of a new name but I’ll let you in on that in the near future. Watch this space!

What do you think about fashion blogging? Any tips for a student fashion blogger? Have you tried it yourself? Let me know in the comments below!

Declan

😀

x

7 thoughts on “Lifestyle | ‘What even is a fashion blogger?!?!’

  1. katherinekerblog says:

    Hi! First of all great post! I just started a blog myself yesterday :)) so I can’t say much about blogging, but I can say that you don’t need a big budget to be fashionable, i think that all you need is good taste and inspiration. Anyway that’s my opinion… Good luck with your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

